cindy sherman is a clown

I look forward to M.A.C.’s unique collaborations and limited-edition collections but for some reason the announcement of Cindy Sherman’s fall collaboration line has put me off completely.

If you are unaware of who Cindy Sherman is, luckily I do. I studied her in my Art History class and she is a notable photographer. Her series, “Untitled Film Stills” is a series of portraits that capture the artist in different looks. She has also done fashion work with Comme des Garçons, Marc Jacobs and Balenciaga.

I shouldn’t say the entire line is bad, a vast majority of the palettes are subdued neutral tones that one could easily wear. But then there is a few colours that make Sherman look like she wants to go to a rave, which to me, looks a bit weird for an A/W release.

However, I’m judging based on the promotional shots that M.A.C. has released. I just know as an avid M.A.C. lover, this limited-edition collection does not appeal to me and I really don’t think there will be a mass appeal amongst regular customers.

The Cindy Sherman for M.A.C. Cosmetics collection will be available September 29 to October 27, in M.A.C. Cosmetics stores/stands and online.

your turn

